Why I want to be Pilot.

This week has been really tough I lost a very good friend of mine and a cousin. This has shown me that I should never take anything or anyone for granted and to always follow my heart. My friend Rachel always wanted to be a cosmetologist and she finally received her certifications only a few months before she was taken. She has taught me to follow my dreams and to never let anyone stand in my way. She was also a risk taker and always made you smile whether you wanted to or not. My cousin Ben was in the military and taught me to always be tough and stand up for what I believe in and was also quite the comedian. Everyone that you come across will teach you something whether you realize it or not. It is very important that you realize you will also have an impact on everyone you meet and it is up to you to make that decision on if you will make that impact a positive or negative one.

While working at Flightstar, occasionally we will see some medical flights or angel flights come in. These always get me in the feels. An angel flight is when a pilot takes a patient to a hospital and they cover ALL of the fees. There are some restrictions with these usually compared to the medical flights that the patients or their insurance companies pay for like sometimes you have to be able to walk and sit up on you own etc. Anyways, I hope that one day I can make a positive difference in someone’s life by either doing angel flights or working for a company that transports patients to other hospitals. I would like to eventually come back to Flightstar to fly so that I can stay close to home. It also helps that they are already like a big family for me anyway. Everyone has supported me every step of the way and always try to help me with any question that I might come up with. The aviation community in general seems to have each others backs and is encouraging of one another.

I have always had some interest in aviation, but I did not always think it would be possible to actually become a pilot until one day my after joking with my dad about wanting to become a pilot, he said “well why don’t you?”. To be honest, I had never even thought about it. I knew that I liked Agriculture and it was a safe career field, but it was not something that I absolutely LOVED. That day I asked Jud Nogle, who is now my flight instructor, how I could find out if this is something that I even wanted to do for sure. Eventually, he took me up on my first flight in a small aircraft and from then on I was hooked. I had finally discovered that flying was something that I LOVED! Everyone always tells me that if you  do something you love, then you will never work another day in your life. I can only hope that once I start flying as a career that I will never have to work again! I am extremely lucky to have such a great support team, Including globalair.com who has blessed me with an amazing scholarship. On a positive note, THE CUBS WON THE WORLD SERIES!!! This just proves that if you work hard and focus on your goals that you can achieve ANYTHING that you set your mind to!

Leave a Reply

