What is the AOPA?

I am a member of the AOPA and I am often asked what that is so I thought it would be a good idea to share it here. The AOPA is the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association. According to the AOPA, their mission is to ensure that the sky remains within reach of everyone who dreams of becoming a pilot. Their goals are to educate the public, prepare resources and training material to enhance pilots’ skills, and advocating for aviation within government agencies.

The AOPA has a lot of resources for pilots! I had some questions regarding getting my medical and if I would be able to and I called their hotline and they were able to assist me! There are also online medical resources that members can access while the medical assisting center is closed.  They also have a flight planner, weather, and an airport directory. Their IPhone app also has a lot of these resources. One thing that I really like in the flight tools is their Flight Risk Evaluator it aids you in deciding if you should stay on the ground or go fly. I use the AOPA GO app a lot to check weather at my local airport before I go fly. I also enjoy using the online training resources to help sharpen my skills on the ground. There are a lot of options for membership prices for pilots including drone operators. You can also get discounts if you qualify or a one and done life membership that will cost you $1,799! Globalair.com also has information about the AOPA and lots of other resources!

 

P.S. This was meant to be published yesterday, but my tech-savvy self forgot to hit the publish button apparently…

Leave a Reply

